A Honey Trap

A mesmerizing poem of first love

Khadijah Kabir
Promptly Written
1 min readMar 19, 2023

--

Photo by Heather Barnes on Unsplash

A honey trap, so sweet and sticky, A lure that catches and holds so quickly, I fell for you, my first love, so deeply. A love so toxic that it left me feeling sickly

You were a beautiful rose, so tempting, and I was a bee, so eager and relenting that I flew into your petals, so soft and bending. But I soon realized that it was a trap.

You used your charms, your sweet nectar, I was powerless, caught in your sector. A pawn in your game, a mere spectator

But oh, how I loved you, my honey trap. I couldn’t resist; I couldn’t take a step back. Even as I felt my heart being snapped, I still yearned for you, in spite of the lack.

Now I know, first loves can be deadly, A trap that ensnares, so swift and heady, leaving us broken, lost, and unsteady, A love so toxic, so passionate, and so deadly

--

--

Khadijah Kabir
Promptly Written

If you're looking for a writer who can transport you to another world with her words, look no further than Khadijah Kabir.