A Joyful Noise

I thought heaven would open its doors

Ali
Promptly Written

--

Image by artesitalia on Pixaby

Nestled between the first two fingers and thumb
Gripped tightly against the right palm in anticipation of what was to come
He raised his hand in the air
The baton traced into a shape with such flair
The pianist played after a few preparatory beats followed by the bass drum

Every time the vowel sound changed from the many lips they came from
The chorus followed with an attack and release of notes that exploded like a bomb
The sounds produced both ephemeral and enchanting, left you unaware
Nestled between the first two fingers

I allowed my mind and body to succumb
To travel the musical journey focusing on the experience and not the outcome
Nothing else could ever compare
I felt the joy in my heart and proceeded to hum
Nestled between the first two fingers

This poem is my first rondeau in response to the poetry prompt by Ravyne Hawke at PW. I wasn’t going to share it because I didn’t think it was good enough. However, I stopped the negative thinking and decided to submit it. I reminded myself that it…

--

--

Ali
Promptly Written

Enjoys writing poetry but also creative fiction and nonfictional pieces! Creativity bleeds through me and that includes art!