A Poem I Wrote To Encourage A Depressed Writer

A poem to lift the spirits of another poet

Scot Butwell
Promptly Written

--

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash.

Violet, a herbaceous plant
of temperate regions,
typically having purple,
blue, or five white petaled
flowers, one of which
forms a landing pad
for pollinating insects
and I might add, violet
is a metaphor for poetry.

Poems are the white petal,
the landing pad of a Violet,
to help us feel and to see
our most deepest wounds.
Our tears are never wasted,
if you’re willing to share
your scars with the world.
Our poems carry what we
hear in our darkest moments
back to the beehive of people.

Our brain is like the Queen Bee,
it’s the steward to the hundreds
of droning thoughts and feelings
who forage for nectar and pollen
from the poems of others to help
us nourish our mind and feelings
to keep on going in our journeys.

--

--

Scot Butwell
Promptly Written

I am embarrassing according to teenage son. My jokes are terrible and I don't know when to stop annoying my son. I am the dad of an autistic son. A funny kid.