Photo by Roman Kraft on Unsplash

A promise to the love of my life

Ghina Zaidi
Promptly Written
2 min readOct 19, 2021

--

I was never a person who believed in romance, happy life, and beautiful endings. The whole population of this world couldn’t make me accept otherwise. But it took just one man to accomplish it. When I read the prompt of “making a promise”, the only promise that came into my mind was to the love of my life. Here is my attempt to state my promise.

My heart was made up of stone,

I believed I’d be forever alone.

Through the pain and agony,

I moved alone in this misery.

My only promise to myself till I get old,

My story would be a secret not to be told.

You came into my life,

Everything started to seem so bright.

I showed you my dark side,

But you saw only the light.

I was supposed to be a princess, but I was the beast,

You were my anchor in the times I expected the least.

Others tried to reach me but I knew they were just acting nice,

You are the only one to come through and break that ice.

I didn’t know the world was meaningful,

I didn’t know it could be beautiful.

This new world was so fresh for me,

You opened the doors of the universe to see.

Now I am bound with your tide,

I realize you are also damaged inside.

Your love and courage has me stupefied,

How did you fall in love with someone who is not right?

You healed me and I have the world sorted out,

Now I promise I’d be your shield throughout.

I promise I’ll fight the world for you,

I promise I’ll pour out my heart to you.

I promise the world will be beautiful for us concurrently.

I promise we’ll share this bond for eternity.

I’ll be yours and you’ll be mine.

I promise we’d be together till the last Time.

Thank you Ravyne Hawke from Promptly Written for this October’s poetry prompt.

--

--

Ghina Zaidi
Promptly Written

Multi-Passionate Freelancer! writing poems and articles about the bitter society. Optimistic, detail-oriented. Writing for the love of it.