A Tailored Poem for You

A poem on empathy

Lisu Mei
Promptly Written
May 21, 2022

--

Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash

If only I could read what’s in people’s minds,
I could find all they hide behind a fake smile.
If only I could see what they do through their eyes,
I could distinguish their truths from their lies.

If only I could hear myself with their ears,
I could find if they really want me to stay here.
If only I could touch what they hold in their hands,
I could find the true nature of their hearts.

Then I could write for them a tailored verse
to sugar-coat their bitter-flavored days.
So this one is for you as this is all I can do
with all my heart wishing you feel better soon.

--

--

Lisu Mei
Promptly Written

Poetry for the heart and soul to live the sun and the fun, and survive the dark and the cold