An Ode to Your Husband

KiKi Walter
Promptly Written
Published in
Nov 6, 2021

--

Photo by Dmitry Ratushny on Unsplash

O, you who shall go unnamed
With your perfect life, that house, your things
I know your secrets and how you’ve shamed

The one for whom my heart sings;
Three parts at play, one cast aside
Revenge is what that pillory brings.

O, tell me who claims the vows to abide?
If they should break, then you (unnamed) will be no more;
Ah, and my thirst for him no longer belied;

But until you’re gone, like pebbles turn to sand on a lonely shore
In eternal limbo yearning for him, oh, my barren heart will soar!

Thank you Ravyne Hawke for today’s poetry prompt:

--

--

KiKi Walter
Promptly Written

AKA "The Memoir Queen." Ki is the founder & co-publisher of The Memoirist, Age of Empathy, Black Bear, Dear KiKi, QuickTalk, The Mayhem, Songstories, and more.