Anxiety and Insomnia

A violet poetry writing challenge

Jennifer N. Adams
Promptly Written

--

Photo by Shubham Dhage on Unsplash

I don’t find myself a poet. I’m an author of sorts, mostly fiction. Lately, I’ve been writing a lot of non-fiction. I had taken a creative writing class in college as a way to burn up an elective, but to also challenge myself in an effort to learn how one writes poetry.

I enjoy reading poetry. I can find the beauty, depth, and meaning the author was conveying. However, I never understood what makes a poem a limerick or a haiku.

I enjoy telling a story in more depth, drawing out the details. That’s where I’m more comfortable, but sometimes, I need something that will challenge me to step outside that comfort zone and tune into that creative mindset.

I want to thank Roselyn Violet for her Violet Poetry Challenge. I want to also thank Ravyne Hawke from Promply Written for tagging me and many others to let us know about this wonderful opportunity.

Anxiety and Insomnia

What is sleep, that which has escaped me

The purple hue that darkens my eyes

A need to step into the land of dreams

Too dependant on caffeine to get me through the day

My overactive brain spinning tales

--

--

Jennifer N. Adams
Promptly Written

Author, Autism Mom, Anthropologist, US Navy Veteran. You can also find me: www.twistedcrowpress.com