As I Dissolve

Poetry Writing Contest Response

Josh E.
Promptly Written
2 min readJun 14, 2023

--

Four people standing around a fire which is in the shape of a heart.
Photo by Salah Eddine Haddad via Unsplash

As I dissolve onto this checkered floor
dust-covered and unattended
my heart as broken as one can be
searches for a place to rest its weary head
for it has endured the most
more than the rest of my body
more than one should be allowed to bear
and I pity its tiresome shell
with all its cracks and chips
a tinkered armor of porcelain
how it failed in its duty
sought to protect what tenderness laid within
but could not stop a devastation
long ago it was strong
filled with drive and passion
until it reached the point of inflexion
where Earth decided no
and God looked down upon
leaving an empty capsule of dying red
for the wolves to devour
and the ants to return to the soil
as if but another carcass in the leaves.

Written in response to The Storyteller’s Vault poetry writing prompt “Melting” for the Promptly Written Poetry Writing Contest.

Thank you to Chelsea Marie for the wonderful prompt and thank you Ravyne Hawke for the enjoyable contest!

Prompt post:

Contest post:

Did you enjoy the poem? Consider following me here on Medium at Josh E.

Want to stay up to date? Subscribe to my mailing list for direct alerts when a new piece is posted.

Do you want unlimited access to every article and story on Medium? Sign up using my referral link which helps support me at no added cost to you.

--

--

Josh E.
Promptly Written

Australian poet whose footsteps through life are marked by poems. Some covered by fallen leaves, others washed away in the rain, but all of them unfeigned.