Authenticity Is Not Always Easy But with Self Awareness You Are Almost 99 Percent There

Jesse Wilson
Promptly Written
Published in
4 min readDec 23, 2021

--

Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

Two days ago, I was sitting at my desk when ping, an email from HR arrived. So naturally, I stopped doing what I was doing because I have learned that of all the corporate emails I receive daily, HR emails are the ones I should always pay close attention to.

Thankfully on this occasion, it wasn’t a heart-stopping, earth-shattering email. You know the ones that start with, “Due to unforeseen circumstances we regret to inform you….” or “It has come to our attention..” No, it wasn’t even an email to remind me how great we are as a company or make me aware of all the fantastic compensation benefits we receive in exchange for our time. No, it was an email that said we, as a company, care or at least we want to be seen as caring.

Because of this, I opened the email titled, Mental Health at Christmas and began to read. I read because I knew ever since the pandemic, my company has recognised the importance of investing more in the well-being of its employees. This additional investment, I imagine for many, has been a welcome lifeline to the unimaginable ways we have been affected.

Before I knew it, I was falling down a rabbit hole to what I now describe as a pot of gold. A pot of gold because I found we had a Microsoft Teams Wellbeing group setup for…

--

--

Jesse Wilson
Promptly Written

Writer | Poet - Inspiring people to find their purpose and live healthier, happier, more loving, and fulfilled lives.