Better Half

A short love story

Nicholas Breen
Promptly Written
2 min readMay 23, 2023

--

Photo by Jamie Street on Unsplash

Remember the first time you loved someone? The first time you got that bubbly butterfly feeling? I sure do. After 20 years of city life in Manhattan, I thought I’d never find the one. Then one day, I walked into my favorite coffee shop and there she was. Coulda swore I saw an angel. Long blond hair, ocean blue eyes, with a smile brighter than any city light, any star. She saw me, in my construction outfit with a Yankees cap on. She stepped towards me, my heart pounded heavier with every step she took.

I’m Mia

Louie, Louie Spinx

We went on to talk for the whole morning. She told me all about her life, hopes and dreams, troubles and triumphs. Tough girl, I mean really. Told her all about my past, my family, my vision. Yeah, I wasn’t a rich guy, but she could tell I had a good heart. We saw each other from time to time. Dates, movies, walks in Central Park. A lotta times I thought I was dreaming. We moved in together, got a gold car named Alfredo (we mostly called him Freddy). We built a good life together, and I cherish what she taught me. Even though she’s gone, she’ll always be my better half.

Thank you for reading my poem. Feel free to check out my poetry, short stories, and essays on this incredible Medium of ideas. Do not be afraid to love someone whole-heartedly. It’s worth taking the leap of faith.

--

--

Nicholas Breen
Promptly Written

Aspiring author who writes for the dreamers, the learners, the unknown poets and people of this world. To learn more about me: https://tinyurl.com/TheBreenShow