Big Words Scare Me

jules’ interpretations of Poetry #3

jules - Miz Mindful
Promptly Written

--

Adobe Stock — Standard License

I am feeling a bit apprehensive about today’s interpretation. But, hey, what is a challenge without fear mixed in. Today, I take on a haiku series by my mentoring challenger, Marcus

When this popped into my feed, I seriously wanted to ignore it. You see, if I am completely honest, the primary reason I avoided poetry for so long was the big words that I had no definitions for. If writing is about speaking to your audience, then I am not a member of this group.

Big words instantly make me feel stupid. Is there a word for that?

Looking back, it is the fear of looking ignorant that kept me away from a lot of challenges throughout my life.

So here we go. The first sentence in my stream of consciousness:

The title, Onomatopoeia, what the hell Marcus.

Now, I have to stop the flow of my reading before it even starts to go look up the word. Merriam-Webster says the essential meaning is:

--

--

jules - Miz Mindful
Promptly Written

Juggler of words as Miz Mindful -- editor Creations Over Coffee, artist, writer, Mindset Coach, Owner Mindful Expressions, Canvassador, - but call me jules!