Black Sheep

A poem about being the black sheep of the family and overcoming the abuse that often accompanies being in that role

Kevin Baugh
Promptly Written
Apr 9, 2023

--

A long-coated black lamb standing with front limbs on a pole.
Long-Coated Black Sheep (Source: Annie Spratt )

Ne’er seen,
Always called on.
Last thought to come to mind;
Made to feel a different kind.
Alone.

Unheard,
Words unspoken.
Never felt included;
All bad for me was eluded.
Soft sighs.

Let down,
Never showed up.
Told birth was a mistake;
Be grateful for each breath I take.
Heart broke.

Broken,
I grew from it.
Became my own shepherd;
Changed all my spots like the leopard.
Black sheep.

This poem is part of the NAPOWRIMO 2023 Challenge from my publication. Ravyne Hawke, Petunia Petals, and the Promptly Written editorial group assisted with editing. Thank you, everyone!

If you are interested in this poem or any of my other works, please follow me, or subscribe to my page, to stay updated about future posts. Thank you.

--

--

Kevin Baugh
Promptly Written

Entrepreneur • Poet • Fiction Writer • Crafter • Amateur Photographer • Artist • Gardener • Veteran • Cook • Neurodivergent