Camp

Episode 10 of the June Murders

Peter Ling
Promptly Written

--

Photo by Billy Freeman on Unsplash

As they walked back to the apartment, Collins asked Sally whether she would continue to work in the film industry now that June was dead. The thought had never struck her before and she stopped walking.

“I really don’t know,” she said. “I’m basically an administrator, but growing up in LA, I felt I could try to get a job at a studio or one of the independent production companies. That’s how I met June. She hired me when her career took off.”

She bit her lip. “I probably won’t take on the same kind of role immediately,” she said. “You need to establish a relationship with a star before they make you their personal assistant.”

Collins nodded. “I guess it would be hard to work for anyone else,” he said. “Especially so soon. But don’t you like the glamour? I know I would.” He gave her a boyish smile.

“It’s a weird business to work in,” Sally said. “Sure, there’s some glamorous aspects, and I’ve had a chance to travel to wonderful places, but it’s also incredibly hard work at times. Once a movie’s in production, time is money, so you have to put in incredibly long hours. I’ve seen June work from four in the morning till midnight. And yeh, some of that was make-up, and costume changes, and hanging around while they set up, but she had to be there, and be ready to work.”

--

--

Peter Ling
Promptly Written

Historian and biographer but thankfully with a sense of humour. Expert on MLK, JFK, the Civil Rights Movement, and presidential scandals.