Chaos Inside

Singing softly and grudgingly to soak up the noise

Sneh Gaurav
Promptly Written
4 min readMar 1, 2023

--

Photo by Europeana on Unsplash

Being an artist is simply the best thing ever, isn’t it? Most people believe being an artist is something of liberation, an adventure, and a fulfilling experience. While, yes, it is all those things; it does come with highs and lows. The highs are when you feel like you’re making progress and being productive, and the lows are when you feel like you’re stuck and not getting anywhere. If you’re lucky, you might even get to experience both at once. But be prepared for the lows, because they’re part of the package. And don’t get discouraged when the highs don’t last.

It’s been a bumpy ride, but it feels like my inner artist has finally gotten a good night’s sleep. I can’t believe it’s been 6 months since my inner art has been sleeping. I try to wake her up, but she keeps on asking for “just 5 more minutes” and doesn’t wake up. She looks so peaceful lying there, and I don’t want to wake her. I’ll give her 5 more minutes. It’s like she’s in a trance or something. I guess she’s finally found some peace after all these years.

Photo by Vanessa Serpas on Unsplash

Still, I feel a bit lonely without her. She used to be my creative companion, inspiring me to take risks and try new things. Now, I’m not sure if she’ll ever come back. I want to believe that she will, but I’m afraid that she might not. I guess I’ll just have to wait and see. She may be hurt or worse, is she OK?

It’s hard for me because I’ve been with her my whole life. Now, she refuses to open her eyes and see me.

I know she can hear me and she knows I’m there, but she refuses to say anything or open her eyes.

What happened to her? I really don’t know. Why did this happen to her? I have no clue.

I tried everything under the sun. Nothing seemed to work. So now, I think it’s time to finally let go and let her be. I think it’s time for me to cut her some slack and let her wake up whenever she feels like it. For I know, with absolute certainty, that whenever she does, she’ll be with me forever, and this is just a part of her growing up. This is just a phase. She’s taking a well-deserved break. Resting and relaxing. I don’t want to pressure her into doing something she doesn’t want to do on her own terms.

I’ll leave her alone.

Photo by Estée Janssens on Unsplash

If you know what I’m talking about, then you should allow your inner artist the chance to rest, if it wishes to do so. After all, creativity is something that needs to be nurtured and rested to be truly appreciated. Don’t force it if it doesn’t want to make art. Take your time, let it take its time. Just don’t rush the process. Things will suddenly and inexplicably fall into place, resulting in a moment of divine understanding and clarity.

One day, when the world will feel like it’s spinning out of control and nothing will seem right; when the chaos will hit you like a ton of bricks and won’t go back to sleep for a long time, is when it’ll finally wake up and realize what it’s done. And it won’t slumber, any longer.

In the meantime, enjoy what you have. Rest while you can. Explore what you can. Take some time to enjoy what you have. You never know when the next wave of adversity will come crashing down, so take some deep breaths.

Photo by Laura Chouette on Unsplash

Remember that even if your creative muse is on vacation, you’re still an Artist. You are a piece of art. Most importantly, let the art breathe. Because it’s important to take a moment to refuel your mind and soul before heading out on a long journey.

The key is to not give up and keep pushing towards your goals. So, don’t be afraid to take the plunge and trust your creative instincts. Being an artist is a journey that’s worth taking, and you never know where it might lead you.

From an artist’s hands to their art.

#Artists: Your creativity is a muscle that needs to be nurtured & rested. Don’t force it if it doesn’t want to create art. #TakeYourTime

--

--

Sneh Gaurav
Promptly Written

In this world full of papers, I promise to write you letters.