PROMPTLY WRITTEN

Consume All the Calories

Notes from a hungry runner

Stephanie S. Diamond
Promptly Written
Published in
2 min readMay 11, 2022

--

Breakfast salad from a local cafe after a swimming workout. Not pictured: a sliced avocado, a large latte, and a pineapple coconut smoothie. Photo by the author.

I was browsing the prompts for May while eating a lunch I call “pile of snacks.” Not a salad, although it’s in a big bowl so I can carry it around the house. Not a charcuterie board, although meat and cheese are involved. This particular pile of snacks consisted of fresh mozzarella, a couple of slices of prosciutto, an apple, a small bag of mini rice cakes, and some prunes. Plus a glass of water. And I planned on having a couple of chocolate truffles after. Naturally, the “consume” prompt jumped out at me.

I’m increasing my running miles this month and training for a half marathon. That means an increase in calories is needed. I’m consuming all the snacks and meals. Smoothies. Muffins. Meats. Vegetables. A steak dinner one night, tofu and broccoli the next. Indulgent chocolate cupcakes and almond-meal, high-protein muffins. Lots of apples and peanut butter. I’m in my 40s and I’ve been running since I was 15. So many years and so many new choices, and I still choose apples and peanut butter for a snack most days.

It’s taken me a long time to realize that food is needed in order to run properly. Everyone’s journey with food and exercise is different. For me, I know now that I need to eat more in order to have the strength to keep running.

Written with a prompt from

and :

--

--

Stephanie S. Diamond
Promptly Written

Writer, Editor, Runner, Hiker, Traveler, Expat, Celiac. I grew up in a haunted house. My book recs: https://bookshop.org/shop/stephaniesmithdiamond