PROMPTLY WRITTEN | GRATITUDE JOURNAL

Day Late

Dollar Short

Kira Dawn
Promptly Written
Published in
2 min readNov 7, 2021

--

Photo by Nicola Fioravanti on Unsplash

November sixth
Five days missed
Journaling about what gratitude is

I write with a grateful heart
Arrived late for the race
Still a start

Watch all the people explore
Boundaries they can push
Fear at the core

I could list all the ways I am grateful
I could promise I will always be faithful

Like to play
Turn the table

I am two-faced
One of them grateful
Other disgraced

If I didn’t have two faces
I couldn’t expose the side that’s tasteless
Can I erase this

Start over
Luck of the Irish
Four leaf clover

Two people wrapped in one
A narcissist
A loaded gun
Either one

I will be a good girl today
Grateful heart
God I pray

Grateful for the laughter
Grateful for the happily ever after

Grateful for the roof over my head
Grateful that I’m not yet dead

Even if I go tomorrow
I’m grateful for the time borrowed

I love you God
Grateful you created me
Different, odd

I’m grateful for all the support
A day late
A dollar short
Gratitude for my retort

Thank you for reading. This poem was inspired by a prompt from Ravyne Hawke. A 30 day grateful heart journal. I will attach the prompt below:

Kira Dawn a.k.a. The Gorgeous Mess/November 6, 2021/All Rights Reserved.

--

--

Kira Dawn
Promptly Written

Lyrical Prose molds my soul. Journey that led me to the Gorgeous Mess of Chaos that you see. One with God. I am merely a vessel. I am authentically me. Broken.