POETRY | PROMPT RESPONSE

Decomposed

Love to the rescue

Ravyne Hawke
Promptly Written
Published in
2 min readMar 30, 2022

--

Photo by Kyle P. Camisty on Unsplash

Like a stalker
your blackened heart
followed me everywhere
From home and hearth
through nature walks
in the park or
casual strolls in stores
and then back home

Even during sleep
I couldn’t escape
the gray mist
swirling, swirling
or the terror swelling
within my own heart

Something had to give

Like an earthworm
I set out to decompose
your black heart
I let love burrow
deep within
turning, turning
deconstructing hatred
dissolving pain
erasing trauma

And in the end
your heart beat anew
a blackened heart no more

©2022 Lori Carlson. All rights reserved.

--

--

Ravyne Hawke
Promptly Written

Writing Coach, Poet, Fiction Writer, Essayist, Artist, Dreamer | “Enlightenment is when a wave realizes it is the Ocean” ~Thich Nhat Hanh