Discovery in the Dark (Poem)

A Poetic Narration of Self-Reflection from Dusk to Dawn

Kirk Carter
Promptly Written
2 min readFeb 2, 2023

--

Photo by Adam Griffith on Unsplash

Darkness spreads, and the day is nearly done.
How was your day? Was it hard? Was it fun?
Was success achieved and obstacles overcome?
Or did you stumble and fall, left feeling dumb?

As the world falls silent you hear your thoughts,
“This journey never stops, ready or not.”
You breathe in deeply, close your eyes, and think,
“Life’s moments pass us by, faster than we blink.
Today is near its end, and this I can not change.
But tomorrow I‘ll control, intentionally arrange.”

Reset your mind, reset your soul.
Reflect on your progress, reflect on your goals.
Plan your tomorrow, maybe even your week.
Are you on a good path, will you gain what you seek?
What have you discovered in these hours so dark?
You’ve found your center, your meaning, your spark.

Write your thoughts, and write them out of your head.
Sleep will come slowly if you take them to bed.
From your head to your hands, and last to the page.
The point of your pen, like a key to their cage,
Letting them free from deep in yourself
Now plain to see, a display on the shelf.

Close your eyes, calm your mind.
Leave the blunders of yore forever behind.
In the dark of nothingness, you drift toward sleep.
As bodily relaxation rapidly creeps.
You feel your weight settle across the bed.
Before was chaos, now only peace instead.

The streaks of sunshine land gently on your face
beckon your rise with their warm embrace.
As you open your eyes, out loud you say,
“It’s time to ascend and create my day.
My direction is clear, I know where to go.”

You rise to stretch and take your first step.
What’s your path? Only you know what’s next.

What is next on your path? Have you evaluated the path you’re on right now? Is it taking you where you want to go? Are the experiences expected on your path the ones that will help you grow the most?

I’m constantly reevaluating my current path to ensure it aligns with my personal and professional desires. As I grow, my path will continue to be adjusted.

I hope you enjoyed this poem inspired by Ravyne Hawke’s Thursday’s Thoughts prompt from the week of January 1–7.

“Every sunset is an opportunity to reset. Every sunrise begins with new eyes.” — Richie Norton

Yes, I’m a bit late but I’m playing catch up! ;)

I can’t thank her enough for helping other writers, new and old, find their creative spark through these prompts.

If you want to join in the fun, head on over to the home of all the prompts of Promptly Written, the Promptiliciousness page.

--

--

Kirk Carter
Promptly Written

Cybersecurity leader by day, vivid writer by night. Inspiring others through my personal stories, lessons of life, and creative writings.