Fiction/Fantasy

Dreamwalkers — Chapter Ten

Even asleep, you’re not alone

Izzibella Beau
Promptly Written

--

Image created by the author using DALL-E

In the days that followed, the atmosphere around me became charged with an unspoken tension, the air thick with the anticipation of unseen storms. My interactions with Chase, Stefan, and Elizabeth were marked by a new level of caution, each of us aware of the shifting sands beneath our feet. But it was my next encounter with Zander that brought the brewing storm to its peak.

I confronted him in the library, the place where the lines of our destinies had first entangled. “Zander,” I began, my voice steady despite the turmoil within, “I need the truth. About the Veil, about what you want from it.”

Zander’s smile was a shadow of its former charm, his gaze cold and calculating. “Cera, I’ve always been truthful with you. The Veil is power, the key to realms beyond our own. And you, you’re the key to unlocking its true potential.”

His words sent a chill down my spine. “Unlocking? Or exploiting?” I countered, the pieces of the puzzle beginning to form a sinister picture.

Zander stepped closer, his presence oppressive. “You’re a dreamwalker, Cera. Together, we could not just traverse the Veil but command it. Think of the possibilities.”

I recoiled from his proximity, his intentions were now clear as day. “To what end, Zander? For control? For dominance?” I accused him, my heart racing with the realization of his true nature.

Zander’s façade finally crumbled, revealing the darkness that lay beneath. “To reshape the realms in our image, Cera. To be gods among mortals.”

The air in the library grew heavy, charged with a tension that felt almost electric. Zander’s revelation hung between us like a dark cloud, his ambitions laid bare in the silence that followed. The once sacred ground of knowledge and learning had transformed into an arena of wills, the books and shelves were witnesses to the unfolding drama.

“You speak of gods and mortals as if you’ve forgotten which one you are,” I retorted, my own voice gaining strength from the conviction in my heart. “The Veil wasn’t meant for manipulation — it’s a safeguard, a protector between worlds, not a weapon for conquest.”

Zander’s expression darkened, a storm brewing in his eyes as he regarded me. “You’re naïve, Cera,” he spat, the venom in his voice more striking than any physical blow. “Naïve and weak. You have the potential, and the power, yet you waste it on ideals and fantasies. But make no mistake,” he said, stepping forward, reducing the space between us, “If you will not join me willingly, I will have no choice but to force your hand.”

The threat, unmistakable and chilling, sent waves of fear through me. Yet, beneath that fear, a spark of defiance flickered to life. “You may try, Zander,” I said, meeting his gaze with newfound resolve, “but you will fail. I will not let you alter the Veil’s purpose. I will not stand by as you endanger our worlds with your delusions of power.”

Zander laughed, a sound devoid of humor, cold and hollow. “It’s not delusions, Cera. It’s reality, waiting to be shaped by those bold enough to seize it. You could have been a part of that new reality. Instead, you choose to stand against me, to defy the inevitable. So be it. But remember, defiance comes with a price. And when the time comes, I’ll make sure you pay it in full.”

With that, he turned and left, his departure as silent as a whisper, leaving a trail of cold air in his wake. The gravity of his words settled around me, a tangible weight. It was clear now that Zander was no mere dreamwalker; he was a threat not just to me, but to the very fabric of the realms connected by the Veil.

The days that followed were marked by a heightened sense of vigilance. I found myself constantly looking over my shoulder, expecting Zander to materialize with malice and new threats. My interactions with Chase, Stefan, and Elizabeth took on a new urgency as we discussed our next moves. Our conversations were filled with strategy and whispered fears.

We knew that Zander was planning something elaborate and dangerous, and we had to be ready. The Veil, our silent charge, seemed to pulse with foreboding energy as if it too sensed the impending conflict.

But amidst the planning and the tension, a resolve solidified within me. Zander’s threat had intended to shake me and break me, but it had only served to steel my spirit. I would protect the Veil, and preserve its integrity against those who sought to exploit its power. Zander had made his intentions clear, and in doing so, he had drawn the battle lines.

I would not let fear dictate my actions. I would stand firm against the coming storm, against Zander’s ambitions. The path ahead was lined with uncertainty, but one thing was crystal clear, the conflict was inevitable, and I was ready to face it head-on. For the Veil, for the realms, and for the balance that must be maintained. The storm Zander had promised was on the horizon, but I was no longer the naive dreamwalker he thought he could intimidate.

I was a guardian, a protector, and I would not falter.

Thank you for reading. It is so appreciated. If you would like to be notified when I drop new content, just give me a follow and subscribe.

Don’t forget to clap, comment, or highlight to let me know you were here.

--

--

Izzibella Beau
Promptly Written

I write articles that will help you grow as a writer and as a person. I also write fictional stories that make you question everything about life and beyond