Dreamwalkers — Chapter Three

Even asleep, you’re not alone

Izzibella Beau
Promptly Written
4 min readJan 4, 2024

--

Photo Created by Author using DALL-A AI

I didn’t get to talk much to Aunt Madelyn when she picked me up or over dinner. She had to bring office work back home so I volunteered to clean up after our taco dinner.

After cleaning up the kitchen and washing the pans and plates, I returned to my room to surf the web and read over the syllabuses I was given in each course.

That night, I couldn’t shake off the feeling of unease that seemed to have taken up residence inside of me. Every time I closed my eyes, I saw Chase and Stefan’s faces staring back at me, their smirks etched into my memory. I tossed and turned in bed, trying to find a comfortable position, but nothing seemed to work.

I got up and went to the window, gazing out at the moonlit night. That’s when I saw them, standing at the end of my driveway.

Chase and Stefan.

I rubbed my eyes, I had to be imagining things. When I glanced back again at the driveway, they were gone.

Were they even there to begin with?

Oh, my God, I need some sleep. Hopefully, tonight I won’t have the terrifying nightmare that has haunted me since Mom died.

I crawled under my covers and snuggly pulled the blanket under my chin. I closed my eyes and counted backward from one hundred, as my therapist suggested I do months ago when my insomnia kicked into high gear after several dream-filled nights.

The last thing I remember was saying eleven out loud before sleep took hold of me.

The girl was running through the forest toward the cliffs again. I’d been in this scenario and dreamed so many times that I knew what to expect. I heard the wolves howling and knew they were right behind her.

Her long hair and nightgown billowing behind her, the wolves’ eyes glowing red, their sharp teeth bared, and foaming at the mouth were common happenings.

The girl’s eyes were wide and frantic, darting from side to side as if to find the wolves. She didn’t know the area well and ran out of places to hide. I could see the fear in her face and her hands were shaking like leaves in a storm.

Her flowing blonde hair billowed behind her as she ran. Tears glistened on her cheeks like jewels on a maiden.

Through the forest, the girl’s white dress flew out behind her like a cape, the moonlight casting a pale blue shimmer across her outstretched arms.

She stopped at the edge of the cliff and turned around. The wolves skidded to a stop, dust clouds forming at their paws.

The girl’s breath came in short, ragged gasps, her chest heaving as she faced the menacing wolves. She seemed cornered, with nowhere left to run.

Two of the wolves, larger and more imposing than the others, stepped forward, their growls low and threatening. Their eyes, a familiar brown and blue, locked onto hers, sending shivers down her spine.

“Please,” she whispered, her voice barely audible over the howling wind. “I don’t want any trouble. I just want to go home.”

The alpha wolves tilted their heads as if considering her words, but their stance remained aggressive. The others circled, their snarls echoing through the dark forest.

Suddenly, a rustling sound came from the trees behind her. She tensed, fearing more danger, but to her surprise, a figure emerged from the shadows.

“Don’t be afraid,” said a calm, deep voice. It was a young man, no older than herself, with dark hair and piercing green eyes. He stepped between her and the wolves, his presence commanding and protective.

The alphas snarled, ready to take on the intruder

“Who are you?” she asked, her voice trembling.

“I’m here to help,” he replied, not taking his eyes off the wolves. “Stay behind me.”

The girl nodded, too frightened to question further. The man raised his hands, and to her amazement, the wolves began to back away, their growls grew faint with distance.

“How did you do that?” she asked in awe.

He turned to her, a gentle smile on his lips. “Some things can’t be explained. You’re safe now.”

“Thank you for saving me,” she said, her heart still racing from the encounter.

“It’s what I do,” he replied. “But you need to be careful. The forest is full of dangers.”

She looked into his eyes, searching for answers. “Who are you?”

He hesitated, then said, “Someone who will protect you.”

The girl looked back over to the wolves, but they were no longer there, instead, two young men stood in their place, Stefan and Chase.

As the dream faded, I awoke in my bed, the morning sun streaming through the window. I sat up, the memory of the dream still vivid in my mind.

Who was that mysterious man?

And why the hell were Stefan and Chase invading my dreams?

Shaking off the remnants of the dream, I got out of bed, determined to face the day ahead. But deep down, I knew that the dream was more than just a figment of my imagination. It was a sign, a message, and I was eager to uncover its meaning.

Thank you for reading Dreamwalkers. You can get notifications when I drop new content by following and subscribing with the link below.

--

--

Izzibella Beau
Promptly Written

I write articles that will help you grow as a writer and as a person. I also write fictional stories that make you question everything about life and beyond