Fiction/Short Story

Echoes of 1988- Part 3

The best of times

Izzibella Beau
Promptly Written

--

Image created by author using DALL-E AI

As Whitney Houston’s “I Wanna Dance with Somebody” echoed through Jenny’s house, the party’s energy seemed to peak. Mike, lost in the moment, swayed rhythmically with Lisa, their laughter mingling with the music.

Sandy, standing at the edge of the makeshift dance floor, couldn’t help but watch them, a complex cocktail of emotions bubbling inside her.

Sandy had always seen Mike as more than just a friend but had never found the courage to tell him. Seeing him with Lisa brought a pang of jealousy she couldn’t shake off. She turned away, trying to lose herself in a conversation with Jenny.

“Like, seriously, Sandy, what’s up?” Jenny prodded, her voice barely audible over Cyndi Lauper’s “Girls Just Want to Have Fun” now blaring from the speakers. “You’ve been staring at Mike the whole night.”

Sandy sighed, “It’s nothing, Jenny. Just… lost in thought, I guess.”

Jenny, unconvinced, raised an eyebrow but didn’t press further. She grabbed Sandy’s hand. “Come on, let’s dance. Forget about whatever it is for a while.”

Meanwhile, Mike was enamored by Lisa’s stories of California. “So, like, you’ve actually met Tom Cruise?” he asked, his eyes wide with amazement.

Lisa laughed, her hair shimmering under the disco lights. “Well, sort of. I saw him at a diner once. He was, like, totally incognito, but I recognized him immediately.”

“That’s totally radical!” Mike exclaimed, his fascination evident.

As the night progressed, the party thinned out, leaving only a handful of guests. The music had shifted to slower tunes, the air filled with the sounds of Toto’s “Africa.” Mike and Lisa found themselves sitting on the couch, their conversation becoming more personal.

“Life here is so different from Cali,” Lisa shared a hint of melancholy in her voice. “I miss the beaches, the sunsets, you know?”

Mike nodded. “Yeah, I can imagine. But hey, we’ve got… cornfields?” He chuckled, trying to lighten the mood.

Lisa smiled, appreciating his effort. “I guess every place has its charm.”

Sandy, watching them from across the room, felt a twinge in her heart. She knew she needed to clear her head. She slipped out of the house, the cool night air sobering her swirling thoughts. The stars twinkled overhead, indifferent to the dramas of teen life.

Back inside, the party had dwindled to just a few stragglers. Jenny was busy collecting empty cups, while Mike and Lisa continued their conversation.

“You know, I haven’t really made many friends since moving here,” Lisa confessed. “It’s been kind of tough.”

Mike looked at her, his expression sincere. “Well, you’ve got one now. And I’m sure you’ll make plenty more. You’re, like, totally awesome.”

Lisa blushed, touched by his words. “Thanks, Mike. That means a lot.”

As they talked, Sandy returned, and her resolve strengthened. She approached them, her heart racing. “Hey, Mike, can I talk to you for a sec?”

Mike looked up, surprised. “Sure, Sandy. Everything okay?”

“Yeah, just… need to talk. Privately,” Sandy added, glancing at Lisa.

Mike excused himself and followed Sandy to a quieter corner of the room. “What’s up?”

Sandy took a deep breath. “Mike, I’ve been meaning to tell you something for a while now. And seeing you with Lisa tonight, I… I realized I can’t hold it back anymore.”

Mike’s expression turned quizzical. “Sandy, what are you talking about?”

Sandy’s voice trembled slightly. “Mike, I like you. More than a friend. I’ve liked you for a long time, but I’ve been too scared to say anything.”

Mike stood there, stunned. The revelation hit him like a ton of bricks. He had always seen Sandy as a close friend, never imagining she felt more.

“Sandy, I… I had no idea,” Mike stammered, his mind racing. “I don’t know what to say. I mean, you’re amazing, but I’ve never thought about you that way. I don’t want to hurt you.”

Tears welled up in Sandy’s eyes. “I know, and I get it. I just had to tell you, or it would’ve eaten me up inside.”

There was a heavy silence between them, filled with unsaid words and unmet expectations.

“Can we still be friends?” Sandy finally asked, her voice barely above a whisper.

“Of course,” Mike replied, his voice firm. “You’re one of my best friends, Sandy. That won’t change.”

They shared a look, a mix of sadness and understanding passing between them. Sandy nodded, trying to smile through her tears.

“I need some air,” she said quietly, turning to leave.

Mike watched her go, his heart heavy. He returned to Lisa, but his mind was elsewhere. The joy of the evening had been replaced by a complicated blend of emotions. He realized that friendships, like the nostalgic tunes of the 80s, often had hidden depths, sometimes revealed in the most unexpected moments.

The night finally came to a close, the last of the guests trickling out into the early morning. As Mike walked home under the starlit sky, he couldn’t help but feel a sense of loss. The party had ended, but its aftermath left him with more questions than answers

--

--

Izzibella Beau
Promptly Written

I write articles that will help you grow as a writer and as a person. I also write fictional stories that make you question everything about life and beyond