Embers of Fear

Daily Special Poetry Prompt November 15

jules - Miz Mindful
Promptly Written
Published in
1 min readNov 17, 2021

--

Adobe Stock — Standard License

Stars shooting faded flames across the sky
Embers of fear follow an eerie glow
Evicted for unpaid rent my thoughts cry
Toxicity of love is all I know
But the emotional scars do not show
Raspy voices singing for attention
Drowning in tides of apprehension
Crossing the bridged gap toward free and wild
Angry heart bellows held in suspension
Release the fearful monster, dear sweet child

The prompt was to watch and listen to the Kid’s Fears by the Indigo Girls. I listened, then read the lyrics, and freely wrote. What emotions does this song invoke within you? Can you relate?

Since the thoughts came freely, I can say I related to this song and its lyrics. The challenge is to then put into poetry format. I used the dizain rhythm as it felt like my heartbeat as I wrote.

Hey Marcus, I am meeting your challenge? Thank you Ravyne Hawke for this inspiring prompt!

--

--

jules - Miz Mindful
Promptly Written

Juggler of words as Miz Mindful -- editor Creations Over Coffee, artist, writer, Mindset Coach, Owner Mindful Expressions, Canvassador, - but call me jules!