Everything Old Is New Again

Oldie but goodie

Star Love Grey
Promptly Written

--

Photo: Star Love Grey (Author)

“Dammit!,” I grumbled. I bent down and picked up an ice cream scoop which had fallen on the the hard tiles of my kitchen floor. It wasn’t just any cheap ice cream scoop. It was an antique ice cream scoop which had been handed down to me from my 2nd-great-grandfather’s possessions. It had survived immigrating with him from Budapest, Hungary, WWII and a long life scooping out countless scoops of ice cream from the grocery store in Bridgeport, Connecticut with a butcher shop, where he was the local butcher, and a magnificent soda fountain. Now, today, it died a unnecessary death at the klutziness of his 2nd-great-granddaughter, simply because I was cleaning out the drawer where I was ironically protecting all the various butchery and soda fountain memorabilia.

I examined it and was in awe of how durable it was made when I realized I could probably fix it with a pair of pliers. I had no clue what kind of pliers, but I went to the garage to look through some drawers of a big metal tool chest. My boyfriend was out of the country on a business trip or I could have just asked him to fix it. I was out of my element in a tool chest. I discovered so many interesting tools, but grabbed four different items which I believe were pliers and brought them back in to save my amazing antique ice cream scoop.

--

--

Star Love Grey
Promptly Written

I am the opened Pandora’s Box. Actress/Singer/Dancer, Writer, Poet. I’ll write any genre if it holds still long enough. Other boring stuff, but I’ll run out of