Fatal Days With Agent Morris

Failure is his own worst enemy

Ruby Noir 😈
Promptly Written

--

Photo Source: Pexels

“Stay on the ground, Courtney, you’re dead.”

Agent Morris stared down at me, his dirty shoe on my hip. He wasn’t pressing his foot down but the disappointment in his eyes was worse than any stomp I could imagine.

He shook his head and walked away from me.

“What were you thinking?” he asked without looking back at me.

I didn’t know if I was supposed to answer him. I was dead. These little tests of his were always difficult to decipher. They were designed for failure but I was supposed to try not to fail and when I inevitably did fail, it always disappointed him.

It was confusing, to say the least.

Laying on the ground in the field, I thought back to this morning.

As per usual I had woken up to a text from him with instructions. I was always supposed to follow them to the letter.

They were games with pieces missing. I was supposed to determine the missing pieces, make sure I had them before the game ended, and complete whatever mission was being carefully plotted throughout the day. But I had an appointment that day. Which he knew.

I hadn’t been expecting a test today, but that was Agent Morris. He loved to get me when…

--

--

Ruby Noir 😈
Promptly Written

14 X’s Top Writer. Vet tech and mom of 6 rescue animals. I speak for those who have no voice.