Daily prompt

First snow fall

a story

Neera Handa Dr
Promptly Written
Published in
4 min readDec 18, 2021

--

File photo of tourists ice-skating as winter cold sets in at Lakkar Bazaar in Shimla. (PTI)

“Please come to the rink tomorrow morning, 6 am, I can get some hot coffee for you, and afterward, we can have some breakfast there”. His eyes under his bushy well-defined eyebrows were shining more than the glazed globes of light defining the boundaries between the mall road and the Ridge.

6 am!! It was already quite late in the evening, and by the time I reached home, it would be like 9, and in the morning to get back here, to see him skating in this icy cold weather at 6, meant, I would have to get up quite early, then standing in that freezing cold place, in the visitors’ gallery, though, he had promised hot coffee, spending my precious winter morning this way, na, no, that would be such a waste, I thought.

But, I wasn’t sure how to say it, so I left it there saying, “I can’t promise, I’ll try”.

“Oh, that’s great, as promises always get broken, so it is better to try, as efforts are sometimes successful!”

It was a dialogue from a film, I think, but he delivered it quite earnestly! And I was impressed. Oh, he used to be quite a reserved person, so this had surprised me a bit.

After spending a few years away, in another city, I had come back to this town, meanwhile, he had finished his degree, and was already working, and seemed…

--

--

Neera Handa Dr
Promptly Written

Top writer in poetry & Sustainability, compulsive writer, reading, writing just about anything. I write daily, have published a PhD, a book & academic articles.