POEM

Flirting May Be One of My Life’s Purpose

In response to ‘A Word-A-Day April Prompts’

Sujona Chatterjee
Promptly Written

--

Photo by Jed Villejo on Unsplash

I am told I have my way with words,
Don’t blame me,
It’s the books my mom shoved under my pillow.
Then add a bit of the naughtiness in me.
And that’s the perfect concoction,
For a flirty me.

Now don’t think too much,
My flirting is healthy.
I ensure people smile,
And they blush with amazement in their eyes.

What is life,
Without a bit of fun and humour.
The exchange of glances,
That make you shiver.

A smile is all it takes,
For conversations to begin.
Where it ends,
Is a mystery I will not reveal.

May be it’s my genes,
Or may be the stories I’ve read.
May be it was the movies,
Or the perfume of a loved one’s skin.

I flirt nevertheless,
With words and life events.
Some may not conclude as expected,
But who cares if it feels good in the end?

Flirting is healthy,
Especially when it spreads warmth and love.
That loud laugh after a sassy comment,
Makes my heart jump.

So, if flirting is the way,
I can spread happiness,
I will keep doing it a million times,
As when others smile,
I feel, I am fulfilling one of my life’s purpose.

Thank you Christine Graves for the amazing word-a-day prompts and Ravyne Hawke for Promptly Written.

The word ‘flirt’ helped me take some time out and flirt with myself. (Does it make any sense?) Hope it does. (hehe)

Thanks so much for your time!

--

--

Sujona Chatterjee
Promptly Written

Living life the only way I know how — one day at a time.