POETRY: MISCELLANEA

Fluffy Ball of Dust

Mescaline Brisset
Promptly Written
1 min readJun 4, 2022

--

Collected

Photo by Houcine Ncib on Unsplash

I left my slippers on the way
Of the old and new world in the shade
Resembling a fluffy ball
From all the dust I collected
For years
On my maladjusted soul
To the things happening
Around me
With the devil on my shoulder sufficiently
Shying away
From all the good things instead
Of following them
With a blindfold
Over my eyes
Firmly fixated on them
The only blind here, I’m afraid
Because I see everything in a new way
As if I had a pair
Of brand-new eyes
Allowing me that
Insignificant insight
Into everyone else’s world
Made from
Too many contradictions
Stinging in the eyes
Telling me that
This is not the way
To live on
But acceptance is crucial
Crushing curbs
To digestible pieces of rubble to get through

--

--