Poem

For Just a Moment

Awakened by a dream

Nancy Elliott
Promptly Written

--

Moonset. Photo by author © N Elliott

A rush of inhaled breath
through parted lips
and in that instant
sleep lets go
but
leaves me lost
in the phantasmagoria.

Am I not in that place
where nonsense makes
perfect sense? Where
all questions are presented,
no filters? Where possibility
expands expands
somehow remaining in my embrace,
no matter how strange or dangerous
or beautiful.

Even as it evaporates,
I cling to this other world,
unimaginably painted by my own hand,
knowing this is
where the knowing is,
and knowing, too,
though I would carry it with me,
as the minutes pass,
it slips away from me,
forgotten.

Grateful to Ravyne Hawke at Promptly Written for the Oct. 20 Daily Special prompt that inspired this work.

--

--

Nancy Elliott
Promptly Written

Writer, artist curious about compassion, interconnection, creativity, life.