For My Girl

A sonnet

Crivo Weitner
Promptly Written
Apr 5, 2023

--

A tree on a snow covered field
Photo by mostafa meraji on Unsplash

Her hair is a soft delight to my brow
Our foreheads meet and two worldviews find rest
With patience she overlooks my stern scowl
I am grateful she chose now to attest
the fidelity burning in my heart somehow
when conditioning says I’m like the rest
I must find my soft tender voice I vow

Pink blossoms on a tree in spring
Photo by TOMOKO UJI on Unsplash

may the instinct of this brute be recessed
As the bitter cold harshness of winter
concedes and springs gentle warmth makes progress
I am so glad that I may present her
With rhythms that match the beat in my chest
this poor sonnet that scarce represents her
and hope her charity declares it blessed.

--

--

Crivo Weitner
Promptly Written

Storyteller from NC. All stories speak truth. Yours is a great one. I hope you enjoy mine as much as I do yours.