Frayed

Violet Poetry Challenge

Jenn Murg
Promptly Written
2 min readDec 13, 2021

--

Photo by David Clode on Unsplash

I stand.
Behind me a twisted melody, perfect
Clear
Strands of frayed ends of string, once bright
Now dull and woven to form
I wrap my shivering soul within this cover of experience
Shaking in my tattered shoes

I wipe my hollow brow on your sleeve
And you shake me off in a shrug
Screaming
I don’t care I don’t care
Well I know.
And I understand.
But I wish you would.

How chilling is the hand dealt indifference
Lying alone in this fostered wreck
This simple complexity
I wait
And I open my veins
And I wait
Listening for the sudden breath
Catching the honesty in a paintbrush
Laying it on thick

I wait for the images to rise
Slow and deliberate
Shy forms within shadows and window panes
Traces of smoke under lights
More clouded than I remember

Under this heat, this weakness brings me to my knees
Humbled and weary
Travelling with nothing in case I need it
In search of nothing most of the time
Called to light within this nothing
Waiting for the disillusioned to strike revenge
But you just stand there screaming
I don’t care. I don’t care.
And behind you, a twisted melody, perfect.
Clear.

More like this at https://jenn-murg.medium.com/

Thanks Ravyne Hawke for the heads-up about Roselyn Violet’s Violet Poetry Challenge.

--

--