Free at Last

Response for the Triple Centina Writing Challenge

Kimberly Hampton Nilsson
Promptly Written

--

Golden Beach, Photo by author

Stress really got the best of me.

My curtain call came too fast, snatching away all of my hopes and dreams.

Sure, I hustled through life,
rose to the top,
and then, lost it all.

Even spent time in prison.
Good grief!
Was it worth all the agony and broken hearts?

Hovering now,
so many years,
twenty-one to be exact,
awaiting this day.

“My daughters, ahh, so beautiful!” Do they feel me, now?

Two of them,
together; such laughter and love.

“Carry me onward, girls!
It is a perfect beach day.
Swim out far,
and release the remains of me.”

Sisters, photo by author

“Excuse me, could you please take our picture?”
My sister squeezed me tight.
We smiled.
The stranger took our picture.

--

--