Ghost Train

A poem for that beloved ghostly sound that haunts so many of us out in the country in the middle of the night.

Kevin Baugh
Promptly Written
1 min readApr 26, 2023

--

Photo by Oskar Kadaksoo on Unsplash

Ghost train,
Why do you sound?
Horn, my silent dreams drowned?
In fitful rest, I shall remain.
Spirit!

Ghost train,
Where do you go?
Sound across the meadow,
Midnight call from another plain.
Phantom!

Ghost train,
Travels at night!
Your song fills with contrite,
A petrifying coup de main!
Menace!

Ghost train,
Veiled by the fields.
Spreader of Devil deals!
Or simply more of your chicane?
Swindler!

Ghost train,
Sound of my youth.
My memory you sooth.
Ne’er your design to ascertain.
Cryptic!

Initially, this poem was crafted by the sound of a distant train during a particularly rough week for me. Then, using the writing prompt from Promptly Written, I recreated this piece and submitted it for my NAPOWRIMO 2023 Challenge.

Ravyne Hawke, Petunia Petals, ADEOLA SHEEHY-ADEKALE, and the editorial group from Promptly Written assisted with editing. Thank you, everyone.

If you enjoy reading my poetry, articles, and stories, please follow me or subscribe to my email notifications to know when I upload new postings. Thank you for reading.

--

--

Kevin Baugh
Promptly Written

Entrepreneur • Poet • Fiction Writer • Crafter • Amateur Photographer • Artist • Gardener • Veteran • Cook • Neurodivergent