PROMPTLY WRITTEN|GRATITUDE JOURNAL

Gobble Gobble

Thanksgiving Waddle

Kira Dawn
Promptly Written
Published in
2 min readNov 25, 2021

--

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Happy Thanksgiving
Cheers to believing
Gratitude doesn’t need a special day to start conceiving

One year I was hospitalized for my asthma
My breathing

Almost died on this day
Hospital two hours away
That was years ago
Suffice to say

Thank you Uncle Deo for saving my behind
You knew I might not be coming back that day which pushed you to desperately pause
Hit rewind

Am sorry I wasn’t able to say goodbye
Am grateful that you know why
You were an amazing guy

I am grateful today that I am alive
I am grateful for the asthma attack I survived

I hate that Uncle Gary committed suicide
First Holiday Season without him by the fireside

Life is what we make if it
It’s hard for every person on this planet
We must make God our bad habit

What do I mean you ask
Action is learned behavior over time
Bad habits lead us away from our Savior
Let’s make prayers of gratitude a crime

Trick the brain
Sounds insane
I’m desperate
Will try anything
To get others to see
Gratitude through me

Thank you for reading. I did miss yesterday’s gratitude journaling. I ended up writing…

--

--

Kira Dawn
Promptly Written

Lyrical Prose molds my soul. Journey that led me to the Gorgeous Mess of Chaos that you see. One with God. I am merely a vessel. I am authentically me. Broken.