Good Neighbors

Peter Ling
Promptly Written
Published in
3 min readDec 16, 2021
Photo by Tanya Pro on Unsplash

Ron and Nancy have always lived next door. They were here when we moved in. Occasionally, we would see them in the corridor. We’d say “Hi” sometimes, but like us, they kept themselves to themselves. Which is why the last few days have been weird.

Debbie and I like our privacy. We assume others are the same. But this was different. It started Tuesday. I take a run at 7:30 a.m. and when I opened the door, there was a line outside Ron and Nancy’s. I counted at least six people. What’s that all about? I wondered.

When I got back they were gone. I mentioned it to Paula and she said she hadn’t heard a thing. Anyway, later I needed something from the grocery store, and when I went out, there were more of them outside. Now, I don’t like to be judgmental but several didn’t look like the kind of people anyone in our building would invite to their home. Not to put too fine a point on it; they looked dirty.

Photo by Yuya Hata on Unsplash

Still, I like to mind my own business so I went on my way and the corridor was empty when I returned. But the next day, it happened again. I was driving Debbie to a dental check-up and we both did a double-take at the line of people outside. They were very quiet and orderly, and cleaner than the last bunch, and we were in a rush so we squeezed past along the corridor to the lift and down to the garage.

When we came back, there were four people waiting; different from the ones we saw in the morning. One couple looked Indian; the man wore a turban and the woman had one of those dresses that include a kind of hood and the cloth sweeps across the shoulder. I think Mother Teresa wore one. Anyhow, both Debbie and I were stunned. We couldn’t figure it out.

Photo by Eric Parker

I suggested calling the building super to see if anything had happened to Ron and Nancy. Debbie did just that and he knew nothing. The building intercom was working fine, he said, so everyone had been buzzed in. So later, after checking that there was no one still waiting, we knocked on their door.

We both felt embarrassed, and when Ron came, the first thing I said was “We’re sorry to bother you, Ron, but we couldn’t help noticing that you are getting a lot of visitors. Is there anything we should know about?”

Ron smiled. “No, everything’s fine. I hope the visitors haven’t disturbed you?”

“No, no,” we both said. “It’s just unusual. You don’t usually have people over.”

“That’s true,” Ron nodded. “But you see, Nancy came into some money and we decided to give it all away to people who need it.”

I guess we looked surprised. Anyway, Ron laughed and said, “Giving is not just for Christmas, you know.” And he closed the door.

And they’d seemed such good neighbors.

--

--

Peter Ling
Promptly Written

Historian and biographer but thankfully with a sense of humour. Expert on MLK, JFK, the Civil Rights Movement, and presidential scandals.