Gracious

Episode 23 of the June Murders

Peter Ling
Promptly Written

--

Photo by charlesdeluvio on Unsplash

Sally decided to contact DC Collins. She had his card and she wanted him to know her situation. She was nervous and he answered immediately.

“Yes, Ms. Adams. What can I do for you?” he said.

“ I need to make you aware of two things. First, I recently learned that June made a will and in it, I am a beneficiary. I was unaware of this when we spoke last, but I assume it is something you should know.” Sally spoke hurriedly as she wrestled with her nerves. How would he react?

“Oh, I see.” Collins thought: is she offering us a motive? It seems unlikely. He was still largely thinking aloud, as he replied. “I don’t suppose you have the name and contact details of June’s lawyer. It would make sense for us to ask the LA police to contact him for a copy.”

“He phoned me, but he’s going to send me details via email,” Sally replied. “Maybe, that will have his company address.”

“And what was the second thing?” Collins asked.

“I’ve been asked by June’s management to try to wrap things up here and return to the US. Technically, I am employed by them and they are paying me until the end of the month. Is this okay? am I free to go?” She wasn’t sure if she was ready to go yet. Collins wondered if her question signaled that she was anxious to…

--

--

Peter Ling
Promptly Written

Historian and biographer but thankfully with a sense of humour. Expert on MLK, JFK, the Civil Rights Movement, and presidential scandals.