Short-story | Fiction | Creative writing

Grandmother told me not to…

Daring to dare

Elisabete Gonçalves da Silva
Promptly Written
Published in
2 min readOct 12, 2021

--

Foto de Angela Roma no Pexels

My grandmother lived in the village.

I lived in the city and I loved going to my Grandmother’s big house, full of memories and full of treasures.

I loved watching the enormous gardens, loved the horses, the ducks, loved going with Mr. Costa to see the newborn cats, dogs, rabbits… I asked my mother to take them with us but my mother used to tell me I could see them anytime, as we went often to my grandmother’s house.

I had a huge fascination with my grandmother’s cellar, but she kept me from going there. She used to say it was dangerous and advised me not to go, but I kept imagining what could there be…

One day we dared to disobey and went there.

I had been plotting about it with my cousin — he is about my age and he had never given it much thought.

We had been wondering and decided that the best time would be at Christmas when everyone would be occupied with the arrangements for the holidays.

We were almost caught by my aunt, but we managed to dissemble it, saying that we were…

--

--