Grateful I Am

Nisreen Khaldi
Promptly Written
Published in
1 min readNov 9, 2021

Grateful I am,

Though the sun did not shine today

It was gloomy, cold, and grey.

Grateful I am,

for the drop of rain

That washed and sprayed

The dry, and wrinkled petal of the flower standing lonely day after day.

Grateful I am,

Despite the sadness that on my heart does weigh,

Despite the sorrow that does not seem to go away.

Grateful I am,

For I am still able to sit and pray

Appreciate life despite the decay.

Grateful I am,

That despite all the pain I felt yesterday,

And still feel today and every day.

Grateful I am that I can still feel the breeze

That steels its way through the half-opened window

To bring me a whisper, from a beloved who has long passed away.

Grateful I am,

For the sun, the moon,

The day, the night.

Grateful I am,

For a child, for health, for sight.

For with every day light

Finding you beside me, holding my hand so tight

Smiling at me, reassuring me,

Walking with me and with every stride

Making me feel that everything will be alright.

Grateful I am,

And will always be,

For with every cloud with rain and thunder heavy,

A day will come that will no doubt be sunny.

--

--

Nisreen Khaldi
Promptly Written

I have MA degree in English Literature and Language. I have passion in writing.