POEM

Green

In response to A Word-A-Day writing prompt

Sujona Chatterjee
Promptly Written

--

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

There must be a reason,
Why nature is green.
It’s serene,
And you cool down instantly.

There must be a reason,
Why green lights me up.
The darkish one,
That looks royal,
And has some mystery attached to it.

There must be a reason,
McGonagall’s robe was green.
Authoritarian, yet kind,
From her heart to the heel.

There must be a reason,
Green elevates my skin.
People give me the look,
That she must be taken seriously.

There must be a reason,
Birds nest on trees.
The green must make them feel safe,
As camouflage in green comes easily.

There must be a reason,
I like green.
It somehow calls out to me,
Even amidst a sea of reds,
Trying to dominate a scene.

There must be a reason,
I picked ‘green’ from the writing prompt list.
Although I am not surprised,
As green loves me more than it cares to reveal.

Thank you Christine Graves for a-word-a-day writing prompts and Ravyne Hawke for Promptly written.

I just realised I like green more than I care to admit. :)

--

--

Sujona Chatterjee
Promptly Written

Living life the only way I know how — one day at a time.