Her Violet Eyes

Violet Poetry Challenge

Joe Merkle
Promptly Written

--

image by cutewallpaper.org. DMCA copyright

Her violet eyes extolled her soul
Her laser-like stare suggesting a devil made care
Daring me to utter a witless hyperbole
Ensnaring me within her sexy warfare

To my surprise, she broke out in dance
Swirling, twirling, mystical magic
Startled and tongue-tied as if in a trance
I watched as she spun her web of heavenly fabric

And right on cue, the mystery grew
An altered reality surrounded us now
A smoky mist of violet and blue
And a voice I swear was Martin Landau’s

She placed her mouth an inch from mine
Enticing, inviting me to the greatest mystery
I stood, a grateful victim in her firing line
Praying she would show me no mercy

Engulfed, she encompassed me in her magnificence
So this is heaven was my singular thought
She’s my home, my white picket fence
She says so seductively I’m your spiritual astronaut

We blend, not as two, but one
Soulmates entwined together yet independent
While we perform aerials on a heavenly ski run
As we become celestially transcendent

© Joe Merkle 2021

Big thanks to Roselyn Violet for this poetry challenge inspiration. And a big shoutout to Ravyne Hawke for sharing this challenge in her publication Promptly Written.

--

--

Joe Merkle
Promptly Written

I write about love, life, loss, kindness, and gratitude. Toss in some fiction and humor and you have the meanderings of a multifarious writer.