A Journey of Love

I Choose to Love

A Poem

Sam Aureli
Promptly Written

--

Photo by Santiago Yáñez on Unsplash

i did not choose to love
out of obligation, or some chivalrous
duty to care for a woman;
nor did i choose so i‘d have
someone to warm my bed
on winter’s bleak nights.

no, listen to my voice, amore mio,
my love, for it carries the depth
and breadth of Cupid’s passion,
of all the lovers who’ve come before,
and who have yet to be struck
by your dazzling beauty.

i chose to love because your
gaze sparkled and shimmered
like the velvety sands of Marina
di Pescoluse, and your sultry
words reminded me of the Ponente
breezes of southern Italy.

listen, tesoro mio, my treasure,
i chose to love because without
you my world would crumble,
and be swallowed up by the seas,
for i could not bear to live another day
without those glittering green eyes.

I Choose to Love was written as part of Promptly Written’s weekly prompt for Tuesday Twosome: Listen and Love. Thank you Ravyne Hawke for the prompt!

The photo is of Antonio Canova’s sculpture Psyche Revived by Cupid’s Kiss which can be found at The Louvre in Paris, France. The love story between Cupid and Psyche is a fascinating one, and I encourage you to read about it. I didn’t intend for Cupid to be a part of my poem, but as I wrote he sort of wiggled his way into it, as he is apt to do when it comes to love.

Thank you for taking the time to read my poem. Without you, my voice would be a soft whisper just floating in the air.

--

--