POETRY | TRAUMA | PROMPTLY WRITTEN

I Feel The Breeze

Free Verse poem

Ravyne Hawke
Promptly Written
Published in
2 min readMar 3, 2022

--

Photo by Sam Moqadam on Unsplash

I feel the breeze
it’s on my knees…

Breeze
a word that should denote joy
of wind whipping through my hair
the air stirring with excitement

So why does it sour on my tongue?

The word transports me back in time
to high school days
football games
and cheerleaders spouting those words

I feel the breeze
it’s on my knees…

And then the laughter
the jokes at my expense
the harassment and bullying
those football players’ hands

Such a small, innocent word
shouldn’t trigger trauma
it should be celebrated
as a catalyst for change

May the breeze carry away
such troubling thoughts
and may its touch upon my knees
bring joy instead of disgust

--

--

Ravyne Hawke
Promptly Written

Writing Coach, Poet, Fiction Writer, Essayist, Artist, Dreamer | “Enlightenment is when a wave realizes it is the Ocean” ~Thich Nhat Hanh