I Know For A Fact That Mediums Exist

A Writing Prompt Response

Lynn L. Alexander
Promptly Written
3 min readJun 8, 2023

--

Photo by Zulmaury Saavedra on Unsplash

In Ruby Noir’s Deep Thought Prompts For June, she asks:

  1. Do you believe that psychics exist? If so — what is the reason behind this belief? Do you think that people who don’t believe in them are misguided and just haven’t found the right one? If not — do you think people who say they’re psychic should be charged with criminal fraud? Do you think that people who do believe in them are gullible or desperate? Spare no feelings. Just answer honestly.

Yes, I certainly believe that psychics exist; however, I do not believe that all psychics are of the same caliber. I have been to psychic fairs where they weren’t very good. Also, I don’t know about the phone psychics that advertise in the back of magazines for $3.99 a minute.

The reason I believe in psychics or psychic mediums is because I had the most amazing reading by a reputable psychic medium. She possessed the gift of communicating with the other side since she was a toddler.

I first saw her at a large event where she did readings for random audience members. Time after time she was spot on with these people and left half of the audience in tears from the messages she passed on from their loved ones.

I went to her for a one-hour private reading a year after my mother passed away. Right away, she said there was a woman who wanted to come through. The medium had no idea who I wanted to hear from.

She told me so many things about my family and life that she could not have possibly known. These weren’t general facts that would most likely apply to several people, but rather very specific facts.

I was very fortunate to have a very doting, stay-at-home mother. The medium mentioned that my family was like a 1950s family. She was right about that.

She also kept telling me how sweet my mother was. That is the absolute truth.

I can’t even count all of the things she told me that were factual. She wasn’t like other mediums I have seen on TV who ask, “Do you know someone whose name begins with the letter C? D? This person loves you.” These are not specific.

The medium I saw didn’t fish for information. She knew everything and didn’t need to fish. I knew she was the genuine article the first time I saw her at the event.

She also brought my father through, and everything he said was true.

It was like visiting with my parents again. It was a very comforting feeling.
I recorded the reading so that I would always have it. My reading also made me more confident about life after death.

I believe many people are skeptical about mediums. It could be because they haven’t found a legitimate one yet, or they could just be nonbelievers.

You can learn all about my reading in the article below.

--

--

Lynn L. Alexander
Promptly Written

Eclectic writer. Ovarian cancer survivor. My interests include humor, health, grief, personal essays and entertainment. Please follow me on my journey.