I Rode Mine to Sturgis

Christine Graves
Promptly Written
Published in
3 min readJun 1, 2022

--

Recounting my favorite summer vacation

Image from the private library of Christine Graves

Everyone has that one certain summer vacation that just sticks with them. For me, it was the summer of 2018. Yea, I know it wasn’t that long ago, but it was a very special moment in my life. I did something I never thought I’d be able to say I did. I rode mine to Sturgis.

If you know what that means, right on!! If you don’t, let me explain. There are a number of motorcycle rallies around the country (and the world) that draw in huge crowds of enthusiasts. One of the oldest is the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally in the Black Hills of South Dakota.

My family and I have been attending the Sturgis Bike Rally for several years. Then, in 2018, I rode my 1835cc Roadhawk Trike more than 200 miles to Sturgis, South Dakota. I didn’t put it on a trailer. I didn’t have someone else ride it for me. I pulled on my big girl panties and did it myself.

I was there for five days, riding only my trike. The cool thing about the Sturgis rally is that it’s not just about hanging out with thousands of other bikers. It’s about riding the open roads with your hair flying in the wind. It’s about allowing nature to seduce your senses. It’s about finding the rhythm between the Earth and your soul.

The picture at the top of the page is me riding down the main street of Sturgis. You’ll notice the…

--

--

Christine Graves
Promptly Written

Mother, grandmother, poet, storyteller, craft hoarder, ancient history fanatic, vintage junk collector, and classic smartass.