I thought…

May not be the best message post-Valentine’s Day, but necessary. Brace yourselves…

Young Retiree
Promptly Written
7 min readFeb 27, 2023

--

Photo by Lance Reis on Unsplash

I thought I was doing all the right things
Showing you the peace and joy that love brings
All I ever wanted to do was make your heart sing
But now you’ve broke mine, and it stings
I thought I could help pick up the pieces of your broken past
And show you something real at last
But it seems like you don’t know what peace is, for your worries are vast
You’re a Pisces, so I guess you fished around and found me
We both did, our lines we cast
Into the dating pool, reeling each other in with ease
Piece of pie
We were like two peas in a pod
Which is why I find it quite odd
That I couldn’t give you peace of mind
No matter how hard I tried to appease
Or however many times I may have said “Please”
My pleas would go ignored, like a kid’s dinner plate with peas

I thought our feelings were mutual, like Liberty
Too bad there’s no insurance for disappointment and heartache, literally
For I’ve had to give assurance and reassurance when you’ve gotten disjointed, critically
Like a protein drink, I’ve had to ensure, habitually
Through all your rants I’ve endured, so surely
I thought eventually you’d see that my chivalry was reality and not fallacy
To find someone to venture on this journey called life with was my policy
Though it may be odd to see
Like Homer or Honda
I’d never Syke you out, like Wanda
To be sincere and genuine was always my intention
But your fear of a true gentleman somehow created dissension
Let’s not forget to mention
That my attention was always on ascension
For prevention of life’s conventions

I thought we might’ve been kindred spirits
Alike in many ways, but in hindsight, you may have been a hindrance
To my dismay, despite what I’ve displayed, you don’t know that before a foundation can be laid
The land must be surveyed
Maybe alone time is growing time, Miss Understanding!
How many times have I had to bring you in for a safe landing?
Hoping you don’t crash and burn, due to your own turbulence
You just can’t seem to learn; this doesn’t make sense
Like the coin shortage
I have long-term vision, Sweetie- you’re short-sighted, like Peter Dinklage
Claiming to be loving and submissive
But you wound up being rude and dismissive
Saying things like “Some are in our lives for a reason
While others for a season”
I don’t have enough hustle
Like we all don’t go through struggle
Are you serious right now?!
Like, wow!
I guess audacity’s on sale!
How many times have I had to bail
You out of a situation?
For you to make such an insinuation
Causes infuriation
And is an example of emasculation
You must have an infatuation
With drama, due to unresolved trauma
Your head must be giving you hallucinations!
You must have selective amnesia
All this time I’ve been there, now I’m in a temporary bind and it’s like, “I don’t need ya!”
I thought we belonged together, like Mariah
Due to our morality, we’re something like pariahs
But now I’m on my Vivian Green
Because although I’ve treated you like a queen
You’ve continued to take me on an emotional roller coaster
Your volatility, I couldn’t get you to holster
I guess loving you wasn’t nothing healthy
Those outbursts were quite stealthy

I thought we had a connection
But my recollections and reflections
Have me thinking, while I thought you just needed some protection and redirection,
You really need a lot of correction
Because your mind’s infection
Has you in misdirection
As evidenced in your voice’s inflections
I now realize all of the misconceptions of your perceptions were just deflections
Just Ungrateful, Not Interpreting True Affection
That’s what you stand for, confusion
My persistence in assistance was an intrusion
The consistence, a stance, an infusion
Of love, patience and understanding against your illusion
Of feeling unwanted and unworthy, no disillusion
But an instance- an example- of inclusion
To show, Miss Guidance, that good men are still in existence and you need a love transfusion
But you misguided insistence on retribution
And resistance to viable solutions
Has led me to the conclusion
That your seclusion has you having delusions
I’m sorry true love is something that has been elusive
As you have made allusions
But now I see you were emotionally abusive
And I can’t help but think if you’ve had reluctance to admittance to your own contributions
To the downfall of previous unions
Was it all just excuses?
I find you accusations amusing!

Suggesting I’m holding you back
If anything, I think we both know who’s holding back who!
What a serious attack!
Sweetheart! You don’t have a clue!
I thought you knew, Boo
That my ambition was partially a mission to include you
In my future, yes, this is true
But I guess potential and drive isn’t enough for your cost of admission, few
Truly know what hit takes to achieve a great view
So I guess I shouldn’t blame you in that aspect
But the least you could do is show me some respect
That I, as a man, must work on my purpose
Long before I can propose
My process was to invest
In me, so I could truly profess before making any promise
Then we could progress toward success

I suppose
You want things right away
Well forgive me for not being Thanos!
I can’t just snap my fingers and make everything okay
I haven’t found all the Infinity Stones!
Not even the Gauntlet
I guess I was you outlet
For you to let out your frustration
You continuation
Of complaining
Is constraining
You can’t seem to escape out of your own prison
So who do you run to?
The one who constantly was trying to get you to listen
To conscious concrete answers, but you misconstrue
And conflate compassion with emotional camouflage
You continue to excel in the art of self-sabotage
You are quite the comical character!
Got poor communication skills and want to go off like a nuclear reactor!
Oh, excuse me, Jean Grey for not having telepathy!
But, if you’re feeling some type of way, you have to tell me!

I’m pissing you off?
On the contrary, Miss R. Kelly, you’re pissing me off!
Got some nerve taking that tone!
While you were home
You watched entertaining videos
Me, I watched educating videos, to propel myself
To work towards wealth
If this is how you treat people, no wonder you’re alone!
You’re a cold-hearted chick!
A bold-faced broad!
You talk sick
That’s why you’re toxic
You turned out to be a fraud
I guess you+me was a love lesson, like Mary J. sang
Well done, Miss Thang!
Congratulations! You let your emotions overpower your intelligence
Not realizing that current circumstances have no relevance
To future positions
So this permanent decision
To subtract the one consistent positive force in your life, will create division
Multiplying pain and despair
These mathematics ain’t adding up, how unfair

Like a Dre protege, the Truth Hurts
And even though I can’t stand him, I guess I’m on my Lil Uzi Vert
Because I don’t really care if you cry
You should’ve never lied
Talkin ‘bout how you hope our son has my eyes
Pushin’ me to the edge
Now our hope is dead
Because you can’t get out of you head
I guess my mind state is Texas
Not tryna flex this, but it perplexes
Yours is more Rhode Island
No wonder towards the end, you grew silent

I was trying to get you to visualize
You were stuck on visual lies
Your overthinking is what ultimately caused our demise
To why surprise
The big dream has turned into a little nightmare
Like those videos you watched, how rare
Is it for two individuals with similar
Backgrounds and desires to come together
We were two unicorns
I weathered
Your storms
I was a pillar
Real recognizes real, and you’re looking unfamiliar
Why couldn’t I see it?
That, for me, you really wouldn’t be fit
I guess you don’t notice red flags if you’re wearing rose-colored glasses
That’s why I gave you so many passes

I thought this would work
But those bad habits continued to lurk
These verbal lacerations is the result of isolation
You haven’t properly healed, that’s why you bleed
On me when I didn’t even cut you
You need
Some help, this you must do
Because you’re mentally unstable
Too bad I was unable
To satisfy your insatiable
Appetite for satisfaction and closeness, now I feel betrayal
Baby, you need a should detox
Like an ear full of was needs Debrox!
You play so many games I might as well call you Parker Sister
Why are you texting me as if my name was Mister?
Though your color’s purple
I tried to expand your circle
Should’ve known I’d never desert you
I don’t deserve this
Like Molly told Issa about Lawrence
I know what my worth is

In trying to make the most optimal
Choices you find out that pain is inevitable; suffering is optional
While it’s unreal how impatient and judgmental
You’ve become, the offenses send me chagrinning,
You learn more about a person at the end than at the beginning
So I guess you’re my testimony, since I survived many resets
Your acrimony led to regret
That’s why you pulled a Mr. Fantastic, reaching out four times
This here wasn’t plastic, but was supposed to show you something better, like Coraline
I though we’d go on this Quest together, like Johnny and Hadji
With those calls, I’ve gotten some validation — just don’t come on my yacht, Taraji

--

--

Young Retiree
Promptly Written

Just someone who's trying to make their way in this world, by writing informative, entertaining, thought-provoking posts.