Joyful

T. Mark Mangum
Promptly Written
Published in
1 min readDec 16, 2021

--

Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

“Murder, butchery, what type of twisted freak does this.”

“Partner, the type whose head needs to receive a bullet.”

“Kids, dog, cat, the entire family.”

“Partner when we catch the butcher, It will be joyful for me to put him down. Prepare for it.”

We pulled up to the abandoned house where reports of squatters had come in. Unfortunately, it was just a block from the crime scene making this some homeless person's unlucky day.

Then it hit us the stench, rotten flesh, and we knew that today was going to be a long one and possibly a joyful one.

© 2021, T. Mark Mangum

I am T. Mark Mangum. From an early age, I was hooked and addicted to the imagined, unfathomable worlds of Star Wars, Star Trek, Conan, the Lord of the Rings, and many others. I write fiction tales. I love writing fiction tales. I love writing in multiple genres. However, my favorites are Sci-fi and Fantasy fiction. I am a father of six, we have two cats and two dogs. Tabletop gaming is a passion.

--

--

T. Mark Mangum
Promptly Written

For the serious reader. Short, compelling fiction for the serious reader. I use Imagination, wonder, and surprise to create my tales. Please Enjoy reading them.