Kevin’s Lament

Just a sweet little poem to express my woes this morning while trying to do artwork but being unable to due to a bad health day.

Kevin Baugh
Promptly Written
1 min readApr 11, 2023

--

You Got This (Source: Sydney Rae)

Shaking,
Artwork lacking.
Days worse than the others;
Steady on; if was my druthers.
It’s not.

Legs weak,
Stairs like a peak.
All strength did absconder;
Hikes like a wilderness wander.
Numbness.

Head aches,
And vision breaks.
Light flashes ‘cross closed eyes;
Smallest sound cause to agonize.
Murder.

Meal prep,
Can’t risk misstep.
Allergies took morale;
Hard to explain the rationale.
Want it!

More pills,
Life without frills.
Body broken, soul heals;
Every day a new path reveals.
Got this!

This poem is part of my NAPOWRIMO 2023 Challenge and was edited by Ravyne Hawke, Petunia Petals, and the Promptly Written editorial team; thank you, everyone!

Don’t miss out on any of my publications! Follow my page, or subscribe to me to stay up-to-date on everything I publish. Thank you for reading my poem today. Have a great day.

--

--

Kevin Baugh
Promptly Written

Entrepreneur • Poet • Fiction Writer • Crafter • Amateur Photographer • Artist • Gardener • Veteran • Cook • Neurodivergent