Learning to Fall for Autumn

The Two-Names Season

Judey Kalchik
Promptly Written

--

Pixabay License

This is a strange season. It’s not my favorite.
I thought understanding it might make it easier to endure. Because I can’t stop time. And the season has arrived.

Out of the four seasons, only this one has two names.

  1. Autumn.
  2. Fall.

The two names have very different meanings, and learning about them has helped me tolerate this season.

Fall is the most recent name- only around since the 16th century.
It came from England and refers to the falling of the leaves.
(OK- so no great shock there.)

Pixabay License

Autumn is Old French and can be traced back to the Latin autumnus.
It means to increase, and refers to the harvest.

Autumn wasn’t a time to dread.
It wasn’t just the precursor to the cold winter.
No, it was a time to celebrate as the harvest was gathered and a safe and plentiful winter was packed away in root cellars and barns. A plentiful harvest meant that we would be here to greet the Spring.

--

--

Judey Kalchik
Promptly Written

I write the truth as I see it. Twice a Top Writer. Follow me to see my writing on your homepage, subscribe for free and get an email when new content appears!