POETRY

Life of Leaf

A haiku

Upen Singh
Promptly Written
Published in
1 min readSep 30, 2021

--

Photo by nine koepfer on Unsplash

Dances to the wind
after a life fully lived
a soft falling leaf.

I wrote this haiku as I was sitting in my treehouse and appreciating the beauty of the huge ficus tree around which the house is built. I was looking at its large spread-out branches when my attention turned into something small.

A falling leaf from the ficus tree.

Rolling and slowly falling down to the earth.

Made up of thousands of such leaves the ficus grows big and strong. When a leaf falls, does it mean the life of the leaf is over? I don’t know. But I like to think of it as a transformation. Its time has come to move the tree to the earth, and become part of something else.

Just like all of us.

And during that transition, it dances to the wind, embraces gravity, and gently, gracefully falls.

This made me realize the beauty of celebrating our transitions. Why don’t we celebrate, dance, and sing to the changes happening to us? Just like the leaf.

--

--

Upen Singh
Promptly Written

A Practical Visionary | Education Counselor | Builder | People & Progress | Traveler | Author | Nature & Animals