Coffee Times Movement

Like a Skittish Cat

In response to Coffee Challenge; Why I am a pro shoutout movement

KM Bernard
Promptly Written
Published in
3 min readDec 9, 2021

--

Photo by he gong on Unsplash

I am not confident in my writing. I prefer to tear it apart before anyone else fires the torpedo. Although I admit, no one has ever been that unkind, except myself.

I read here on Medium every day, wandering as my interests lead and following writers that I enjoy, then discover more. I clap (more than one) for everything I read, I try to comment, but I’m often not so secure in reaching out, feeling like I’m bothering the author. I admit, I love to receive comments so I am working to hopefully spread that warm feeling to others.

My go-to place is to be alone, so community is hard as much as I desire it, I find it scary to “belong.”

As a writer though, isn’t that the crux of it all? Getting lost in the world created in our minds making it harder to be real, to join a group, and interact with people no matter how kind.

Heart of hearts I want to belong, to say out loud how I admire and learn from who I follow while I am lurking in the dark. How your words inspire, your stories entertain. How vulnerability shared teaches me lessons I’d never learn alone or sequestered in my tight bubble of a world.

--

--

KM Bernard
Promptly Written

Kathleen is a Nure Practitioner, lover of the cadence of words, and her rescue dog. She/her.