POETRY | PROMPT RESPONSE

Love Despite Differences

A Free Verse poem

Ravyne Hawke
Promptly Written
Published in
2 min readMar 10, 2022

--

Photo by James Eades on Unsplash

My friends think that the earth is flat
that somewhere beyond the horizon
just beyond the Antarctic ice wall
are lands available only for the rich

They want to embark on a journey
sneak past Antarctica via Argentina
and discover what lies beyond the ice
to ‘dispel the lies’ we’ve been told

They see a map of Earth
mirrored in the moon
and lands beyond the ice shelf
What if it’s all true? They ask

They don’t believe in outer space
and think the planets and stars
are merely plasma in the firmament
changing shapes and colors

As the Being that I am
from a galaxy away
I can only sit and listen
pondering their theories and beliefs

They know I am a ‘glober’
a wolf in sheep’s clothing
but since I only watch and observe
non-judgmentally, they accept me

--

--

Ravyne Hawke
Promptly Written

Writing Coach, Poet, Fiction Writer, Essayist, Artist, Dreamer | “Enlightenment is when a wave realizes it is the Ocean” ~Thich Nhat Hanh